Today I.....

Swapped the leads and sparks between cylinder 1 and 2. Misfire disappeared , but runs badly with an injector fault on cylinder 1 still. Hmmmmm

Worst corrosion seem to be on the top of the arms so maybe inspect here first to properly evaluate them!

What grade oil did you use, any improvement in driving?
Had a look and one is marginally worse than the other, that said it seemed more surface corrosion. I’ll inspect again another day with the wheels off to check properly, time got away from me today.

Oil is genuine Audi gearbox oil, I haven't done a prolonged drive but feels a bit smoother, not a massive gain, probably as the car had only done 27k miles on the old oil. Happy it’s changed though.

@Jeetesh , I am no expert but i think it could be worthwhile to knock hard with a screwdriver or similar on the rear end of your wishbones to see if you get a solid response. They are tricky, most rot are from i side rather than outside. And check both upside and downside.
Okay, something to check the next time I jack it up to make sure they are not badly corroded from the inside.

Factory tyre size on 1.4 petrol with se wheels was it 185 50 16 ?...? what did they come out of the showroom with .
Yes.

I’ve been looking and the tyres are not that cheap anymore as they are not such a common size. Continentals still available and a number of budget brands. I asked previously and I’m probably looking to change to 195/45 R16 Goodyear EfficientGrip as I want a slightly wider contact patch and I rate the tyres (VW Up GTI use them). I find that I’m sometimes scrambling for grip on loose/damp surfaces if I need to pull away quickly in my FSI. I don’t however want to go wider and impact economy.

Last edited: