1.4 SE, new to me, what should I check?

SiOsbon

Picking up a one-owner 96,000-mile 1.4 SE tomorrow, now I will be looking through all the paperwork to see what's been done on the car, but as I'm new to A2 ownership I would like advice on what could need doing and if I can do it myself? Also, what is a good source of parts?

I didn't see any stickies with this info and had a quick look through some threads, so apologise in advance as this must have been asked a thousand times.

Also is there a way to find out what an SE comes with as standard equipment?

Also is there a way to find out what an SE comes with as standard equipment?

Audi listed the following as coming with the SE spec:
6J x 16 six spoke alloy wheels
Chorus II CD player / radio
Door sill trims
Front and rear tailored mats
Front fog lights
Illuminated vanity mirrors
Leather handbrake cover
Leather gear knob and gaiter
Leather rimmed steering wheel
Luggage compartment floor

Those were additional to the base spec features.

Perfect... Was climate control an optional extra on the SE?
I copied that list from the May 2002 price list. I believe that climate control was added to the SE spec for later model years. In May 2002 it was a £1250 option.

Picking up a one-owner 96,000-mile 1.4 SE tomorrow, now I will be looking through all the paperwork to see what's been done on the car, but as I'm new to A2 ownership I would like advice on what could need doing and if I can do it myself? Also, what is a good source of parts?

You need to start with a full VCDS scan

If your exhaust is still original, it will almost certainly be choked with internal rust, and a cat back replacement will be needed.

If you haven't already done so, upgrade your membership to access the market section of the site

Welcome aboard and congratulations on your purchase :) You're in the right place for knowledge and advice about any aspect of A2 ownership and maintenance.