Can I replace a steering rack with G250 with a steering rack that does not need it?

kaarlisk

A2OC Donor
Due to a mistake by the dealer (did not check that my VIN requires an older part), and due to my silllyness not doublecheking them,
I now have a brand new steering rack without fitment for a G250 sensor.

The idea I have is:
instead of returning the rack, and buying one that does fit the sensor,
maybe I can replace the power steering pump with one that does not have the sensor "input"?

It does seem, at least from the TRW catalogue, that their replacement for the pump with input for the sensor is actually without an input.
It does also seem that this may actually be the cheaper option.

Does my idea have any merit, or am I completely bonkers? :)

I do realise it is a bit off to only come to the forum for help, but since I have very little experience with the A2 (it is my girlfriend's), I have not yet had anything to contribute.

Take a look at this Audi self study program (pages 20 -28) as it explains about the original sensor and how it's being replaced. - http://pierro777.free.fr/DOCVAG/ssp240_Audi A2 Technology.pdf

It's a long shot but it may be possible to take the signal from the 'clock spring' steering angle sensor behind the steering wheel as the later models probably do.

Cheers Spike

PS. You could PM our electronics wizard Timmus as he may already know if it's do-able, or even take it on as a special project if he has the time

Last edited:
Take a look at this Audi self study program (pages 20 -28) as it explains about the original sensor and how it's being replaced. - http://pierro777.free.fr/DOCVAG/ssp240_Audi A2 Technology.pdf
Thanks. This shows that the existing pump already is attached to CAN.

It's a long shot but it may be possible to take the signal from the 'clock spring' steering angle sensor behind the steering wheel as the later models probably do.