Hello! Newbie here!

3wheeler

Hi I am the lucky new owner of an 86000 mile 52 plate 1.6 FSI SE, in red with beige cloth. The laquer is peeling aaaaalll over, and the coatings on all the switches are shot too! But, I paid very little for it, and my Sister (the previous owner) has spent a small fortune on it over the last 6 months (more than they, or I paid for it!) Among the items done, are inlet manifold, servicing including cambelt and waterpump, Front coilsrpings. The Aircon is as ineffective and clammy as a politicians handshake too. It seems its had an MOT advisory for 2 years over a sloppy steering rack. Are there any known issues with this model I need to look out for. I intend it to be a daily driver, and its replacing my 15000 mile UP! (which is great, but dull). Any help would be welcome, so I can keep a look out! Thanks!

Hi and welcome to a2oc sounds like its had one of the expensive jobs done in the inlet manifold flaps. The MOT advisories are strange as i don't think i have ever heard of a worn rack--i would be looking at track rod ends (but the mot should have spotted those)
One important this is to run it on high octane fuel such as tesco momentum-this is essential for the engine to run efficiently with its ultra lean burn. This engine really likes a good old italian tune up every now and then ( full revs and full throttle when ever safe to do so)
Hope you enjoy the car they really get under your skin. cheers mike

why not consider joining us at a social--details in the social section.

Welcome to the A2OC ? I agree with @a2sumo these cars run way better on high octane fuel I have a 1.6 fsi and on normal fuel It is slightly lumpy but on high octane fuel they run a million dollars better you can notice the difference for sure :)?