Hi - New Driver and New A2 owner here...

ReaGeorge

Hi everyone,

I recently started learning to drive (a bit late at 29 but have lived in the city for most of my adult life which is not conducive to car ownership) and started thinking about what car I would like for a first. The A2 popped into my head as I had worked with someone who had one some years ago and I quite liked it, especially the removable seats making for a great mini mini van which is great for someone who often needs to lug A/V equipment around but still wants a small car.

I found it quite difficult to find one in my area that I liked and at a price that made sense for me but finally found this 1.6 FSI SE, 120k miles on the clock and picked it up for £1000.

20200820_115646 copy.jpg

As is expected it's not perfect and I'm slowly finding all the little things that need tending to (I've already ordered a new Check Strap for the Drivers door from @depronman here on this forum, looking forward to receiving it)

• New front tired need fitting - The tires on there are 195/45/16 - This is a different size to what's written on the Fuel Flap... should I replace with the size stated on the fuel flap or replace with same as is on the wheels at the moment?

• The assembly between the oil cap and the engine is a bit loose, as shown in the video below, is this something I can easily fix?

• The gear stick doesn't pop into the middle position from 2nd properly which is a bit of a nuisance. Does this mean I need to replace the shift tower spring?​

• The most pressing matter is that I have the code P0597 showing up on the OBDII scanner (Thermostat Heater Control Open Circuit). Does this mean I should replace my Thermostat along with its housing that contains the 2 pole connector and is this something I can do myself? Was thinking to order this part as a replacement: Coolant Thermostat With Housing