Little dog playing up again. This time it's rustling noises from just one speaker.

Little Dog

A2OC Donor
European-Union
A new development that completely has me beaten and I don't know where to start. When the engine is running there is a rustling noise from the N/S rear door speaker. It appears worse when the car is moving but that could be because it is distracting me from driving:

It is just the one speaker and the radio is switched off. Any ideas, just being advised where to start would help. Thank you.

Last edited:
Very much sounds like electrical interference noise to me. I’m a bit of a novice but I believe that when rear speakers are present they a driven off a separate amplifier which is located in the drivers side foot well. I am making the assumption that you don’t have the Bose sound system and have an Audi head unit. If that is the case you could try disconnecting the input to the rear speaker amplifier which comes from the Audi head unit. If the cracking disappears then it is something upstream of this rear speaker amplifier. If it remains then it likely that it is being generated in the rear speaker amplifier itself, a dry joint could create this sort of noise. Is the noise there with ignition on but engine not running?

Justin

Just looked at a picture of one shown below and it’s not quite as straight forward as I thought as everything connects via a single connector block so not trivial to identify the input pin and pull them from the connector block

8D33D365-E6E1-426F-87DA-D36CFBF0BEAE.jpeg