My bolts are super tight! - Top rear shock absorber mounts

Could do with some advice please guys.

Thought I'd start to get some jobs done on the A2. Wanted to change the rear shocker (think it's original).

Can't budge the 16mm bolts on the top shocker mount.

I've tried a couple of 300mm extension bars and ratchet, but its not budging, yes has WD40 on it.

I have just bought a cordless impact wrench but as I'm new to this, thought I'd gauge opinion before I let rip with it.

Feeling like I've fell at the first hurdle!

Last edited:
Be careful they are captive nuts on the rear shocks. If they come adrift you are in for a lot of grief. Ole engineers trick, try to tighten them a tiny fraction to break the seal.

Be careful and do not use an impact wrench. The nut on the inside of the car is tack welded into a cavity that is sealed up during body build. If the nut is dislodged that is a whole world of pain. Use a very good penetrating oil - no WD40 is not a penetrating oil and let it soak and repeat a couple of times before you try to remove the bolts.

The 2 really good penetrants that I recommend are PB Blaster and PlusGas.

Thanks for the info guys, had a tap with the lump hammer, and a repeated tighten and loosen.

Here's the state of them. Would replacing them be better?

What's the best way to remove the mount from shocker, doesn't look like much to grip.
Ring spanner and mole grips?

Attachments

• IMG_7970.jpg
    IMG_7970.jpg
    369.4 KB · Views: 113
They should clean up just fine. You obviously can replace them if you wish.

The mole grips and ring spanner is ok on the old shock just be extremely careful when fitting the new shock.

Yep, looks like you have a shed load of aluminium oxide on them. They may scrub up but new is not expensive.
I would be more interested in the female threads, have they survived or stripped out?

Thanks again all.

I've cleaned up the bolts, they insert fine, nothing seems to have stripped out (thank god).