Power steering failure

devans

England
My Power steering has failed making the steering very heavy . There are no warnings on the display but I have colour Dis. There is nothing in the messages . I hear a beep when I start the car. Any assistance on basic checks would be great as I’m about 70 miles from home with a limited tool set.

Afternoon David,

You know I’m not a mechanical ninja but was going to send a few links to read through but noticed that there is plenty at the bottom of your post.

Scroll down and you should see a long list of previous threads that are common to your issue.

After a quick scan of the first few, could it be as simple as one of the 2 fuses or the fluid level.

Hope you get sorted quickly. Where are you because if you’re 70 miles north you might be close by where I might be able to help with something from one of my fleet to at least get you home.

Kind regards,

Tom

My Power steering has failed making the steering very heavy . There are no warnings on the display but I have colour Dis. There is nothing in the messages . I hear a beep when I start the car. Any assistance on basic checks would be great as I’m about 70 miles from home with a limited tool set.
I had heavy steering recently and it was simply that the fluid level was a little low. Topped it up and back to effortless one finger steering again.

Only use the correct green stuff though, reservoir located under passenger side Headlamp ?

ThanksI’ll take a look as see if it’s a fuse and check the level . I’m not seeing anything on colour dis or in the messages which I thought I would have

In my case it turned out that the air conditioning pressure sensor (half-way down the a/c radiator behind the front bumper) was terminally corroded internally and was shorting the CanBus circuit out, blowing the associated fuse that powers (among other things) the steering controller.