Coolant problems please help!

Nickbrn

Hi there, i have only had my A2 for around 2 months but i seem to have a bit of a coolant problem! the car is a 2001 Y 1.4TDI SE. it seems to be loosing coolant, but i can not see any signs of this under the car, and there are no usual headgasket problems (i am new to diesels!) eg smoke from the exhaust, water in coolant etc. The garage have had the car for over a week, and at first it would not loose any coolant, then yesterday it did the usual and emptied the coolant resevoir pretty quickly! they now think it is the headgasket, but they are not sure! i dont really want to go down this route unless there is definate proof! can anyone help me? what are the signs of headgasket failure on a diesel? are they the same as a failure on a petrol? can you do a sniff test on a diesel?

Kind Regards

Nick

Water pump problems have been fairly widely reported, so it might be that or its seals. Search for "pump" in the forums for more guidance.

Good luck with it.

Dev

Hi Nick, welcome to the A2oc
As Dev suggests, the water pump would be the first choice. Its driven by the timing belt and hidden behind to plastic cover on the front of the engine - so its not easy to see.
By sniff test, do you mean taking a sample of coolant and testing it for contamination with combustion gas, then yes, its common practice on a diesel engine.
If your very unlucky then it could be a head gasket - see link for more details
http://www.a2oc.net/forum/showthread.php?t=4035&highlight=headgasket

Cheers Spike

Hi Nick.I recently had a replacement head gasket fitted following several other failed attempts at curing my overheating/coolant loss problems. The most noticable symptom was a massive build up of pressure in the header tank even when cold.following the repair there was no real pressure to speak of when hot or cold.what mileage are you on? mine was on aprox 173k. all fine now at about 180k.