Funny noise - advice please?

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and just got an Audi A2 about 2 weeks ago. So far loving it. However, I've just noticed that there's this loud, dull, humming sound when the accelerator is pressed. Can't really explain it. Trapped air, blocked ventilation kinda sound. Not really noticeable when the stereo is on. Seems to come and go. Does anyone know...? or experience the same problem?

Cheers,

Yeah I have the same, I thought it was the clutch but it actually is when pressing the gas pedel. It doesn't happen all the time but most of the time.

Thanks Spike,

Yes, I have a TDI 1.4. Sounds like a common problem then. How much is it approximately to fix this problem with the EGR? Does anyone know?

Cheers

Does it do any damage?

Afternoon everyone,

My 1.4 TDi makes the same noise, I'm not too bothered about it, as long as it doesn't cause any damage? I usually have the stereo on loud, so the odd "moo"(?) doesn't matter. But a new EGR valve sounds expensive, so is the noise / problem going to cost me money?

Cheers,

David

EGR Valve

Hi All,

Does anyone else remember reading an article about faulty EGR valve possibly causing turbo failure? It was probably in the Honest John section of Saturday's Telegraph Motoring section a few weeks ago, but I do not have it to hand.

John

Audi quoted me today £270 to replace the valve and that it might not stop the noise. To ensure that it stops they can put some additional parts to move the valve or something which would cost an on top of the above £130.

I was told it is not causing any problems and that they saw an a2 for service last week with the valve noise problem which had had this noise for a number of years.

SKF fixed my mooing car with what they called 'bobbins' I assume they are some form of isolating rubber mounting, not too sure where the EGR is on an A2, it's on the inlet manifold on an A4 but that it the mechanical version
Mike

EGR valve fix

Only me again,