Help! 2003 A2 1.2 TDI car goes numb

Gabi

Hi, guys!
I would really appreciate if anyone could share some thoughts on this :eek:
Firstly, I don't know if I'll be able to describe what's wrong correctly, as English is not my first language and I'm not good with those specific words and terms related to cars...
So the problem is that sometimes while driving the display showing the number of the gear disappears as well as accelerator/gass pedal (is it called that way in English?) stops working - engine keeps working evenly, like the car just keeps going on free ride (like you were on neutral gear) until you stop. And if you try to change the gear manually or turn to reverse - nothing happens. You have to turn the engine off, and the on again.
We took it to the service, but they were unable to find anything (but they weren't sure where to look either), while checking the computer, they found the error with the pressure (annnd, they deleted it without taking proper note and as the mechanic does not speak English and we were not there at that moment, we only know that it was something with the pressure..... :().
Maybe you guys have some ideas where to look for problems and the possible solutions?

Thank you so so much!

P.S. is this the same "loss of power" problem lot's of people are talking on here?

Hi,

I think RAB would be the person who would know.

This thread may also help:
http://www.a2oc.net/forum/archive/index.php/t-13031.html

Was the error:
00841 - Transmission Hydraulic Pressure Sensor (G270)

If so as advised in the linked thread you should check the electrical connector on the hydraulic unit.

If you could ask your guy to write down the text of the error if he sees it again and then tell us here it would make a diagnosis much easier.