Help! :( Lots of head scratching going on!

brum

Hey,

This is my 1st post! :) I drive an 02 1.6 FSI Sport.

Ok, so I am no mechanic but not completely silly! Basically it all started when my clutch bearing started to go. That terrible noise when you push the clutch?! So got some advice and everybody i asked agreed it was this. So, got it booked into my local.

Upon doing this i decided while the car was being worked on, I'd ask to get the clutch and flywheel replaced at the same time. 95000 miles and its never been done... thought this was a sensible plan.

Ok so i go and get into the car to drive it to garage. I get to the end of my road, go to pull away (with this terrible squealing noise) and then my poor Brum dies on me.. :( Now the car wont start.. :S So I pushed it back home and got the garage to come and recover it.

Got a call yesterday from my mechanic saying he's fitted everything, but still cant get her to start, and now he's scratching his head...

Ideas anyone!? :(

Thankssss!

Dan :)

Hi Dan.

Welcome to the A2oc.

Has your mechanic done a scan? If you could get the results it would give members the info to help you.

Good luck

Cheers

David

Hey guys,

Thanks for your replies. Just spoken to the mechanic, he has told me he Scanned the car with no fault code showing.. He also said that because the car wont run, it won't throw up any new codes. Is this right? He has now said that he is thinking of checking the timing just incased it has slipped. The cam belts were done at 80,000 miles so are new and tight so i dont think this could have happened. Could it!?

And just to let you know i know the mechanic quite well, He's not charging me any more for this extra hastle. I sourced my own parts and he is charging me £250 for the labour. Fixed price. So its not like he's trying to get any more money out of me, thats not going to happen!

What shall i do now?! :(

Dan