Rear wheel not rotating

Kaz

Hiya

Just had my ebay'd A2 recovered and discovered the rear wheel doesnt rotate - would this be wheel bearing or handbrake?

how easy would this be to resolve?

Cheers

Kaz

hi Kaz, i would be 99% sure it was to do with the brakes as all my time as a mechanic i have never come across a binding wheel which was caused by wheel bearing unless its a 1966 ford angila which has been sat in a puddle for 40 years lol, i would imagine it is either a seized cable seized arm on the shoes or seized cylinder (more likely one one of the first Two) get the car up in the air (hand brake off, chock front wheels) deadjust hand brake if still binding get the wheel off and give the drum a tap with the hammer, if still seized u will have to get a slide hammer on the drum (may break the fitting kit for the shoes but they are cheap) Good luck :)

Hiya

Just had my ebay'd A2 recovered and discovered the rear wheel doesnt rotate - would this be wheel bearing or handbrake?

how easy would this be to resolve?

Cheers

Kaz

Hi Kaz,
I'm assuming it's a drum brake and if it is than it's almost certainly a leaver seized on to the shoe. It is shown here in red:
http://www.a2oc.net/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=4553&d=1281943189

It's a pig of a job unless uou have the right tools (whatever they might be :rolleyes:), the sprigs are very awkward to remove and even more so to reinstall - make sure you don't loose them (flying off)!
Plenty of WD40 and elbow greese to get the leaver moving again.
Make sure you dont get any oil on the pads!!!

Take a look here for a detailed instructions:
http://www.a2oc.net/forum/showthread.php?t=14383

Good luck

Mike
:)

Last edited: