Stiff gear change and wiper blade issue. Advice welcome

olly811

Hi all,

I have always had helpful advice on a2oc so I hope you guys can help me with these queries as well;

1-Recently I have had problems engaging reverse gear, and now the problem has spread to 3rd and sometimes 4th gear. I usually have to wiggle the gear stick and double clutch it to engage the gear fully. It happens 80% of the time when selecting 3rd and 20% of the time for reverse and 4th. Bushes? Linkages? I'm no expert but I would love some advice before I take it to my local garage.

2-Front windscreen wiper noise drives me crazy! The wiper blade is a single arm and is very heavy so it bangs on the driver side windscreen strut. It seems to have got worse over the years and seems quite slow even when on full speed. It really can not handle a heavy down pour. Is there any way of adjusting the mechanism so it does not travel so far? Anyone had similar issues?

Regards, Olly.

Have you had a look at the mechanism beneath the wiper and the motor mount? It sounds like it may have come loose. If so, you definitely want to fix that before your wiper grinds to a halt completely.

Alternatively if everything is tight, you could have an electrical problem. Worn bushes in the motor could be a culprit. Again you want to fix that before the wiper stops working at all!

I'm no expert on the A2, but these were problems on my previous car.

Unless it is clutch wear it sounds as though the gearchange mechanism needs adjusting, do a 'search' and i am sure you will find the insructions on the site. As for wiper issue I take it you have replaced the blade itself regularly.....? Otherwise it does seem as though it could be worn/tired motor or is the wiper arm loose on the spindle?

Hi all,

I have always had helpful advice on a2oc so I hope you guys can help me with these queries as well;