Sudden Dramatic Increase in Oil Consumption. Which things to check?

moogaloo

Hi All,

I do about 400 miles a week so over 20K a year. My car is a 1.4TDI from 2001 and the current milage is 135K

I use longlife oil and am on variable servicing. (so far all from Audi)

Since buying the car second hand 3 years ago (it was on about 65K) I have had to top up with oil once every 3 months or so between services.

About 2 months ago I had the oil low warning light come on and topped it up as usual. Since then I have had to top it up once every 2 to 3 weeks.

The tip at the end of my dip stick is snapped of but I think the oil is genuinly low. I normally park in the same place at work every day and their is no black pool marking that space.

Another strange bit of info is that the warning light normally takes about 3 days to go away after topping up with oil.

I am no mechanic, but is there anything in particular I should tell the garage or is there anything else I can do to help diagnose this problem?

Thanks

Chris

Do you see blue smoke upon accelerating?

If your losing oil and there's no leak anywhere, then the only thing I can think of at the moment is that the rings etc are worn and it's burning it, hence asking about blue smoke.

Cheers

Sarge

Last edited by a moderator:
I have not noticed any blue smoke. I will try and pay more attention in case it is something I could possibly miss?

I have ordered a new dipstick so hopefully will soon be able to confim / deny the low oil for sure.

Hi Chris
Remove the bonnet and have a look round the engine bay for leaks. It may be something like a faulty rocker cover gasket or even a loose oil filler cap. The engine bay undertray may stop any oil drpping onto the road so masking the problem. I suspect the underside of the car would eventually get covered as oil collecting on the undertray would get blown around in the slipstream.

Cheers Spike