Spacer to allow the Bosch tandem pump to be fitted to the RHD BHC / ATL engines

depronman

A2OC Donor
I have been offering a machining service for several years now to machine a 'spare' spacer to allow the ASV to be located around 30mm to 40 mm near to the passenger side. This is to allow the deeper Bosch tandem pump to clear the ASV casing.
These alloy spacers have all but dried up and are now incredibly difficult to find.
Without the extra machined spacer only the LUK tandem pump can be fitted to the BHC / ATL engines (right hand drive cars only), the Bosch pump is widely regarded as the better pump. Coupled with this the LUK pump appears to be no longer available, this situation make or may not change over time, but at the moment the LUK pump is not available.
This leaves the BHC / ATL engine in a bad position as a failed tandem pump is relatively common and there is currently no direct fit new tandem pump available.

I have been working on a solution to this problem which is both cost effective and available in volumes going forward. The solution I have come up with is a combination of a 3D printed spacer in ABS plastic AND a steel tube, combined with longer mounting bolts.
This should be a reliable solution in that the plastic is effectively only holding in place the steel tube which ends up sandwiched between the original alloy spacer and the ASV.
I am proving a complete 'turn key' solution which includes the spacer, O ring and three longer bolts. The cost being £40 plus postage (around £5 to anywhere in the UK)

Attachments

• IMG-5187.jpg
    IMG-5187.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 112
  • IMG-5188.jpg
    IMG-5188.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 103
  • IMG-5189.jpg
    IMG-5189.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 107
  • IMG-5191.jpg
    IMG-5191.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 106
Last edited:
Nice. What are the part numbers for the pumps in question?

I’ll keep an eye out for old stock replacements just in case.

Hi Paul,